Breaking News
Download Free Templates Joomla! 3
Home / NEWS / Sports / Man City Players Dominate PFA Premier League Team Of The Year

Man City Players Dominate PFA Premier League Team Of The Year

Five players from champions-in-waiting Manchester City have been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Premier League Team of the Year.

Having been confirmed as champions on Sunday after second-placed Manchester United lost 1-0 to West Bromwich Albion, the Etihad celebrations continue with the choice, by their fellow professionals, of defenders Nicolas Otamendi and Kyle Walker, midfielders Kevin de Bruyne and David Silva and forward Sergio Aguero as part of a three-man attack.

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, currently leading the Premier League scoring chart on 30 goals, accompanies Aguero and Tottenham’s Harry Kane, who has scored 26 league goals, in that attacking line-up.

Only the goalkeeper David de Gea was named from United, while fourth-placed Tottenham boast three selections in Kane, playmaker Christian Eriksen and central defender Jan Verthongen.

Completing the line-up, and despite last season’s champions’ disappointing title defence, Chelsea left-back Marcos Alonso was named in a team he failed to make last year when losing out to Tottenham’s Danny Rose.

Alonso held off strong competition from left-backs such as Liverpool’s Andy Robertson and Tottenham’s Ben Davies.

On Sunday, the overall winner of the PFA Player of the Year award will be unveiled, with De Bruyne, De Gea, Kane, Silva and Salah all nominated, along with City winger Leroy Sane, surprisingly omitted from the Team of the Year.

Championship Team of the Year

GK John Ruddy (Wolves); RB Ryan Fredericks (Fulham), CB Sol Bamba (Cardiff), CB Willy Boly (Wolves), LB Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham); MID James Maddison (Norwich), MID Ruben Neves (Wolves), MID Tom Cairney (Fulham); FWD Bobby Reid (Bristol City), FWD Leon Clarke (Sheffield United), FWD, Matej Vydra (Derby County)


p class=”no_name selectionShareable”>League One Team of the Year

GK Dean Henderson, (Shrewsbury); RB Nathan Byrne (Wigan), CB Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn), CB Dan Burn (Wigan), LB Amari’i Bell (Blackburn); MID Bradley Dack (Blackburn), MID Erhun Oztumer (Walsall), MID Nick Powell (Wigan); FWD Danny Graham (Blackburn), FWD Jack Marriott (Peterborough), FWD Will Grigg (Wigan)

League Two Team of the Year

GK Marek Stech, (Luton); RB Jack Grimmer (Coventry), CB Alan Sheehan (Luton), CB Mark Hughes (Accrington), LB Dan Potts (Luton); MID Jorge Grant (Notts County), MID Luke Berry (Luton), MID Sean McConville (Accrington); FW Adebayo Akinfenwa (Wycombe), FW Billy Kee (Accrington), Danny Hylton (Luton)

Photo credit: Squawka News


div class=”g g-3″>

About kenvibes

Mr. ken is a Tech, Movie (Sci-Fi), Sports and Programming Freak. An eccentric Computer and Electronics Engineer smouldered in the glorious epiphany of online journalism

Check Also

Arsene Wenger Resigns: Arsenal Majority Owner Stan Kroenke Pays Tribute To Arsene Wenger

Arsenal majority owner Stan Kroenke has issued his own statement, saying the decision for Arsene …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe For Latest Updates

Signup for our newsletter and get notified when we publish new articles for free!